gate Garching EN
gate Garching EN

Numeric Systems GmbH

Numeric Systems GmbH was founded in 2016 subsequent to a promotion by the EXIST founder scholarship. The company’s core intention is PACEFISH®, an innovative software for the accelerated simulation of physical flows by means of GPU- (Graphical Processing Unit) processors.

The computer-based simulation of flows is called CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) and has been established as a software branch for 30 years. Companies use CFD-programs in their virtual developing process in order to economically predict the aero-dynamical or rather flow-mechanical properties of their devolpments by a computer, like e.g. vehicles, trains, airplanes, motors or refrigerators. Thus, the production of high-priced prototypes is eliminated.

In order to improve competitiveness, enterprises are interested in calculating more CFD-simulations in the time available and reducing the costs emerging. CFD-simulations are very complex. Even by using expensive mega-computers, established CFD-programs need hours up to weeks for a single simulation, according to its complexity.

Contrary to established CFD-programs, PACEFISH uses GPUs by NVIDIA for the elaborate calculations. These are parallel processors evolving from the field of graphics. They have limited capacities, but may implement them considerably faster than CPUs at the same cost. Compared to CPUs, PACEFISH thus achieves the tewentyfold operating speed at costs reduced by factor 10 per simulation.

The functional range of PACEFISH is coordinated with automotive applications as “virtual wind tunnel”. With the development progressing, the tool is becoming more and more interesting for other fields of mechanical engineering as well.


Contact
phone+49 (0)89 5484 2340
mobile +49 (0)175 7461 383
internet: http://numeric.systems

Contact
Eugen Riegel, CEO
E-Mail: eugen.riegel@numeric.systems

gate Garching DE
gate Garching DE

Numeric Systems GmbH

Die Numeric Systems GmbH wurde 2016 im Anschluss an eine Förderung durch das EXIST Gründerstipendium gegründet. Kernvorhaben des Unternehmens ist PACEFISH®, eine innovative Software für die beschleunigte Simulation von physikalischen Strömungen mittels GPU-Rechenkarten (Graphical Processing Unit).

Die Simulation von Strömungen durch Computer wird als CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) bezeichnet und ist ein seit 30 Jahren etablierter Softwarezweig. CFD-Programme werden von Unternehmen im virtuellen Entwicklungsprozess dazu genutzt, die aerodynamischen bzw. strömungsmechanischen Eigenschaften eigener Entwicklungen, wie z.B. Fahrzeuge, Züge, Flugzeuge, Motoren oder Kühlschränke, kostengünstig durch den Computer vorhersagen zu lassen. Dadurch wird die Herstellung teurer Prototypen vermieden.

Um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu verbessern, sind Unternehmen daran interessiert, mehr CFD-Simulationen in der verfügbaren Zeit rechnen zu können und die dabei entstehenden Kosten zu senken. CFD-Simulationen sind sehr aufwendig. Etablierte CFD Programme benötigen selbst bei Nutzung von teuren Supercomputern je nach Komplexität Stunden bis Wochen für eine einzige Simulation.

Im Gegensatz zu etablierten CFD-Programmen verwendet PACEFISH für die aufwendigen Berechnungen GPUs von NVIDIA. Dies sind parallele Prozessoren, ursprünglich aus dem Grafikbereich. Sie haben eingeschränkte Fähigkeiten, können diese aber bei gleichen Kosten um ein Vielfaches schneller umsetzen als CPUs. Dadurch erreicht PACEFISH im Vergleich zu CPUs die 20-fache Arbeitsgeschwindigkeit und reduziert die Kosten pro Simulation um das 10-fache.

Der Funktionsumfang von PACEFISH ist abgestimmt auf die Anwendung im Automotive Umfeld als “virtueller Windkanal”. Mit fortschreitender Entwicklung wird das Werkzeug zunehmend interessanter auch für andere Bereiche des Maschinenbaus.

Kontakt
Numeric Systems GmbH
Lichtenbergstr. 8
85748 Garching bei München
Deutschland
Telefon +49 (0)89 5484 2340
Mobil +49 (0)175 7461 383
Internet: http://numeric.systems

Ansprechpartner
Eugen Riegel (Geschäftsführer)
E-Mail: eugen.riegel@numeric.systems